skip to main content
NSW Syllabuses

History K–10

The HSIE key learning area (KLA) includes the History K–10 Syllabus, where you will find support materials and advice on supporting students with Special Education needs.

Read the HSIE K–6 Guide and the History Years 7–10 Guide to the new NSW syllabuses.

Implementation information for K–6 schools

  • The HSIE K–6 Syllabus (1998) will be replaced by the History K–10 and Geography K–10 syllabuses as they are implemented in K–6 schools.
  • In 2016, all K–6 schools will continue to teach the Cultures, Environments and Social Systems and Structures strands in the current HSIE K–6 Syllabus and teach the new History syllabus in place of the Change and Continuity strand.
  • The recommended percentage of teaching time of 6–10% of the typical school week for the HSIE key learning area in K–6 schools will remain unchanged.

Read the latest news about the Australian curriculum in NSW.


NESA is converting the HSIE Years 7–10 elective courses into an online interactive syllabus.

Read more about opportunities for feedback


2015 – Start teaching Years 8 and 10, optional to teach K–6.

2016 – Start teaching K–6.

Outcomes and Content