skip to main content
NSW Syllabuses

Human Society and Its Environment (HSIE)

The HSIE Key Learning Area (KLA) includes the History K–10 Syllabus, Geography K–10 Syllabus and new Stage 6 syllabuses. With each syllabus you will find support materials and advice on supporting students with special education needs.


NESA is converting the HSIE Years 7–10 elective courses into an online interactive syllabus.

Read more about opportunities for feedback


2017 – Start teaching Geography K–6, Year 7 and Year 9.
Continue teaching History K–10.
Familiarisation and planning for new Stage 6 syllabuses

2018 – Start teaching Geography Year 8 and Year 10.
Start teaching Year 11 History.
In Term 4 start teaching Year 12 History

2019 – First HSC for Stage 6 History