skip to main content
NSW Syllabuses

English Standard Stage 6

Please note the implementation timeframe for the English Standard Stage 6 Syllabus (2017). This syllabus is not to be taught in 2017.

See the English Stage 6 Syllabus to be taught for Year 11 in 2017 and Year 12 in 2018.

The new English Standard Stage 6 Syllabus has been released to schools for familiarisation and planning throughout 2017 prior to its introduction in 2018. Schools and teachers should be aware of the implementation timetable, which details when each syllabus is to be introduced.

Here you will find all of the syllabus elements, assessment and reporting guides, support materials and advice on supporting students with special education needs.

A download of the syllabus is available.

The English Standard Stage 6 Draft Syllabus Consultation Report (PDF, 555KB) and new English Standard Stage 6 Syllabus were developed using the NESA consultative syllabus development process.


2017 – Familiarisation and planning for new Stage 6 English Standard

2018 – Start teaching Year 11 English Standard.
In Term 4 start teaching Year 12 English Standard

2019 – First HSC for Stage 6 English Standard

Assessment and Examination Materials

Examination specifications and materials will be available in Term 3, 2017

Assessment and Reporting in English Standard Stage 6 PDF (102KB, 13 pages)
Years 11–12 Assessment Advice PDF (308KB, 9 pages)
Guide to changes to Stage 6 Assessment from 2018 PDF (163KB, 4 pages)

Support Materials

Guide to the new English Standard Stage 6 syllabus PDF (180KB, 4 pages)
Parent guide to new Stage 6 courses PDF (213KB, 5 pages)