skip to main content
NSW Syllabuses

Earth and Environmental Science Stage 6 Course Description

Course No: TBC

2 units for Year 11 (Preliminary) and Year 12 (HSC).
Board Developed Course.

Exclusions: Nil

Course Description

The Year 11 course investigates compositional layers of the Earth, the origins of minerals, tectonic movements and energy transformations that occur and includes the study of human impact on the Earth’s resources and its surface.

The Year 12 course investigates how the processes of plate tectonics, the formation of water and the introduction of life interact with the atmosphere, hydrosphere, lithosphere and climate. Investigation of hazards, the mitigation of their effects and resource management are also considered which leads to an understanding of the need to centralise the theme of sustainability for the long term welfare of our planet and all forms of life dependent upon it.


Year 11

The Year 11 course consists of four modules.

Module 1 Earth’s Resources

Module 2 Plate Tectonics

Module 3 Energy Transformations

Module 4 Human Impacts

Year 12

The Year 12 course consists of four modules.

Module 5 Earth’s Processes

Module 6 Hazards

Module 7 Climate Science

Module 8 Resource Management

Course Requirements

Students are provided with 15 hours of course time for Depth Studies in both Year 11 and Year 12. During this time students may undertake an investigation/activity that allows for the further development of one or more scientific concepts.

A Depth Study may be one investigation/activity or a series of investigations/activities. Depth Studies may be included in one module or across several modules.

Practical investigations are an essential part of the Year 11 and Year 12 courses and must occupy a minimum of 35 hours of course time each year.

Fieldwork is mandated in both Year 11 and Year 12 and is an integral part of the learning process.